List of Partner institute

Following research institutes / universities are involved in research as partner institute with NTRF:


   Tea Research Institutes:

Ø  Tocklai Tea Research Institute, (RTRI)

Ø  UPASI - Tea Research Foundation (UPASITRF-TRI)

Ø  Darjeeling Tea Research & Development Centre (DTR&DC)

Ø  Institute of Himalayan Bioresource Technology (IHBT), Palampur



Ø  Calcutta University

Ø  Jadavpur University

Ø  Visva Bharati

Ø  Rajiv Gandhi University, Arunachal Pradesh

Ø  North Bengal University

Ø  Assam University, Silchar

Ø  West Bengal University of Technology

Ø  Presidency College, Kolkata

Ø  University of Madras, Chennai

Ø  Vidyasagar University, Medinipur

Ø  West Bengal University of Technology, Kolkata

Ø  West Bengal State University, Barasat

Ø  Karunya University, Tamil Nadu

Ø  Tezpur University, Assam

Ø  Ramakrishna Mission Vivekananda University, Kolkata


Agricultural Universities:

Ø  Assam Agricultural University, Jorhat, Assam

Ø  Bidhan Chandra Krishi Vishva Vidyalaya, Kalyani, West Bengal

Ø  C.S.K. Himachal Pradesh Krishi Vishva Vidyalaya, Palampur, Himachal Pradesh


Research Institutes:

Ø  Allergy & Asthma Research Centre, Kolkata

Ø  Bose Institute, Kolkata (DST)

Ø  Centre for Development of Advance Computing (C-DAC), Kolkata

Ø  Industrial Toxicology Research Centre, Lucknow (CSIR)

Ø  Vivekananda Institute of Medical Sciences, Kolkata

Ø  North-East Institute of Science and Technology, Jorhat (CSIR)

Ø  Tata Memorial Centre, Mumbai, (ACTREC)

Ø  Chittaranjan National Cancer Institute (Min of Health, GOI)

Ø  S.N.Pradhan Centre for Neurosciences (Cal.Univ)

Ø  Institute of Himalayan Bio-resource Technology, Palampur (CSIR)

Ø  Indian Institute of Chemical Biology (CSIR)

Ø  Vellore Institute of Technology, Tamil Nadu

Ø  Bharthi Women’s College, Chennai

Ø  Institute of Post Graduate Medical Education & Research, Kolkata

Ø  KPC Medical College & Hospital

Ø  Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur,

Ø  Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati

Ø  S.T.Hindu College, Nagercoil, Chennai

Ø  Mazumdar Shaw Centre for Translational Research, Bangalore

Ø  National Research Institute of Ayurveda for Drug Development, (AYUSH), Kolkata

Ø  ICAR-National Bureau of Agricultural Insect Resources, Bangalore

Ø  K. S. Rangasami College, Tamil Nadu

Ø  NRS Medical College, Kolkata

Ø  Moulana Azad College, Kolkata

Ø  All India Institute of Medical Sciences, Bhubaneswar


Abbreviations used

Full Name


 Assam Agricultural University, Jorhat.


 Advanced Centre for Treatment, Research & Education in Cancer,  Navi Mumbai. 


 Bidhan Chandra Krishi Visva Vidalaya, Mohanpur, West Bengal.


 Centre for Development of Advance Computing, Kolkata.


 Centre for Studies in Social Sciences, Kolkata


 Chittaranjan National Cancer Institute, Kolkata.


 Chaudhary Sarwan Kumar Himachal Pradesh Krishi Vishvavidyalaya


 Calcutta University, Kolkata.


 Institute of Himalayan Bio-resource Technology, Palampur, Himachal Pradesh.


 Indian Institute of Chemical Biology, Jadavpur, Kolkata.


 Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur


 Institute of Post Graduate Medical Education & Research,Kolkata


 Industrial Toxicology Research Centre, Lucknow.


 Tea Research Association


 United Planters’ Association of South India, Tea Research  Foundation, Valparai,


 Vivekananda Institute of Medical Sciences, Kolkata.


 Vellore Institute of Technology, Vellore


 National Research Institute of Ayurvedic Drug Development


 All India Institute of Medical Sciences, Bhubaneswar

Modalities for the selection of Projects

Ø  Projects can be submitted during any time of the year both in hard copy and soft copy (either mail or through online as available in NTRF portal).

Ø  Projects to be submitted strictly following the format of NTRF. All the columns to be filled up properly. NTRF will reject the proposal if it is not in the approved format.

Ø  Not more than two opportunities for revision/correction will be permitted before submission of the project for second time.

Ø  Concerned subject expert only should be the PIs.

Ø  Yearly reports to be send timely and in the format provided.

Ø  Budget should be prepared in the proper format as per NTRF directives.

Ø  Corrections to be done as suggested by NTRF/RAC members

Ø  All corrections incorporated and highlighted.

Ø  Projects are sanctioned for a specific period only.

Ø  Project will be evaluated through RAC twice in a year i.e. January and July of every year.

Ø  New project may be received throughout the year, but the same project may be placed in the nearest available RAC meeting.

Ø  Once the project submitted by the Principal Investigator, may be scrutinized by NTRF Secretariat within a month of time.

Ø  The scrutinized project may be forwarded to the RAC members / subject matter specialists for their comments / opinion / suggestion along with the observations of NTRF Secretariat.

Ø  The observations of NTRF Secretariat and comments / opinion / suggestion may be forwarded to the Principal Investigator of the concerned project within 2-3 months time for preparation of the presentation before the RAC.

Ø  Capital items are rarely sanctioned, unless they are very essential. Analysis etc could be outsourced for which recurring expenditure shall be provided.

Ø  Host institutes are provided with overhead at 10% of recurring expenditure.

Ø Since inception of NTRF in 1988 till 30th April, 2016 NTRF received 207 project proposals from various research institutions / universities have been received. So far 171 proposals have been approved and 14 have been rejected. Rest 20 projects are under scrutiny. Around 150 papers were published in different scientific journal. Out of the 150 approved projects, two were not implemented, 135 have been completed and 36 are in various stages of progress.

Project proposals which did not fit within the objectives of NTRF were rejected.